Ballooning Special Extended to August

Mpumalanga province of South Africa

Mpumalanga means "place where the sun rises" in isiZulu , and is home to the Blyde River Canyon and plentiful wildlife (including all the big five and the Kruger National Park).

Capital - Nelspruit
Mother tongues - SiSwati 30%, IsiZulu 25%, IsiNdebele 13%
Premier - Thabang Makwetla

Kruger Park photos



the People



flora & fauna




Used to be known as:

Mpumalanga was part of the Transvaal Province of apartheid South Africa, and known as the Eastern Transvaal; prior to this it had been part of the Boer Republic which ended in 1900.

The 'new' South Africa's Constitution writers used Apartheid-era Eastern Transvaal as the core of Mpumalanga, and added the surrounding overpopulated Bantustans of KwaNdebele, KaNgwane, and parts of Gazankulu, Lebowa and Bophuthatswana. On the 24th August 1995, the Eastern Transvaal and surrounding Bantustans consolidated and changed their name to Mpumalanga.

Things to do in Mpumalanga

- Blyde River Canyon
- Dullstroom
- God’s Window
- Kruger National Park
- Pilgrims Rest
- Sabi Sand Reserve
- Shangana Cultural Village
- Sudwala Caves
- The Panorama Route

Ask our lovely travel consultant your questions here. She would love to assist.

2015 Investment Cruise

Ritsgids logo