towns of Mpumalanga



White River

Barberton (gold-mining, Barberton daisies)
Ermelo (wool)
Graskop (forestry, abseiling, hiking, rock climbing) 
Hendriksdal (railway siding converted into guest house)
Kaapsehoop (small town)
Lydenburg (steeped in war history)
Malelane (sugar)
Nelspruit (capital, Lowveld National Botanical Garden)
Ngodwana (timber, paper mill)
Piet Retief (sugar & tropical fruit)
Pilgirm's Rest (preserved mining town)
Sabie (forestry)
Secunda (petroleum-from-coal installation)
Standerton (dairy industry)
Waterval Boven (Oosterlijn Steam Company)
White River

Nkangala District Municipality
  • Emalehleni Local Municipality
    • Witbank (coal-mining), now known as Emalehleni (meaning "the place of coal"), is the economic hub of Mpumalanga, and is connected to Gauteng via the N12 & N4 freeways, as well as a railway network. Emalahelni is booming as a result of the construction of the Kusile Power Station.

    • Lynnville & Ackerville

    • Hlanlanikahle

    • Kwa-Guga

    • Phola

    • Ga-Nala.

  • Dr JS Moroka (Siyabuswa)

  • Emakhazeni (formerly Belfast)

  • Steve Tshwete (Middelburg - vanadium & steel)

  • Thembisile Hani

  • Victor Khanye (formerly Delmas), is home to the Kusile Power Station.